Share files between users on same mac

Sharing Files Between Users On the Same Mac (#1172)

Save the files in your current account. With the Finder active, from the Go menu, select Go to Folder In the window that opens, in the "Go to the folder: In the window that opens, look for the folder named Shared. Drag your files onto this folder so that you can access them from the other macOS account. Log into the other account and retrieve your files: From the Apple menu, log out of your current macOS account.

macOS Sierra: Use File Sharing to share files

When the login screen appears, select the macOS account to which you want to transfer the files, and log into it. In the new account, with the Finder active, from the Go menu, select Go to Folder Drag your files out of this folder to finish transferring them to the new account.


  • How to put files in your Public folder for other users to access.
  • league of legends free rp no survey mac.
  • how to close ports on mac os x?
  • movie subtitles download for mac;

Contact us. In this post, you will learn the differences between a Shared folder, a Public folder, and the Drop Box folder.

How to share a folder between all users on the same Mac

You will find out when and how to use each method to share files and documents between users of a same Mac. Each macOS installation comes with a Shared folder , and each user of that Mac has access to it. The Shared folder is probably the easiest and quickest way to share files and documents between users, understanding that every user will be able to access them. If other users have already placed files in there, you will see those files. You will also be able to paste or drag files in that Shared folder for others to see.

By default on macOS, each user account comes with a Public folder that one can use to share files and documents with others.

macOS Sierra: Use File Sharing to share files

It is very similar in function to the Shared folder, except that only you can place files and documents in your Public folder. You may then paste or drag files and documents into your Public folder for others to access. Other users on the computer will be able to open files in your Public folder, but they will not be able to edit or delete those files.

Only the owner of a Public folder can edit and delete. If that user shared files in his Public folder, you will be able to see them there. There is one last way to quickly transfer files between two user accounts.