How to share files on google drive mac

Type in the email addresses of the people you want to collaborate with. To the right of this entry box, you can click the gray box to grant each collaborator the ability to edit, comment, or only view. You can use both public and private sharing options for the same document — for instance, you could allow the public to view your document but let only specific people edit or comment on it.

In addition to the sharing options outlined above, you can prevent people with view or comment permissions from downloading, printing or copying the document. You can also prevent anyone with edit permissions from sharing the file or changing its access permissions. There are two other ways begin sharing a document in Google Drive. To share a document from the mobile app version of Google Drive, tap the three dots to the right of the file name.

Google Drive Tutorial - Sharing Files and Folders [How to]

When you're on the home screen in the Google Docs, Sheets and Slides mobile apps, the sharing steps are basically the same as in the Google Drive app. Sharing from within the Google Docs app.

Let's hope any collaborators spot the error in the first sentence. When a document on your My Drive page is set as shared, it will have an icon of two silhouetted heads to the right of its file name to indicate this status. An oversight on the part of the Google Drive developers: Someone has shared a document with you to collaborate on?

How to share a document for collaboration

Google Docs, Sheets and Slides offer a few different ways for people to work together: Set the cursor in the document where you want to insert a comment. Alternately, you can highlight text or an image. Then, click the black dialog icon on the toolbar above the document. Clicking the gray Comments button at the upper-right corner will open a panel listing all the comments made by you and your collaborators.

Share files from Google Drive - Computer - Google Drive Help

You can scroll through them, and you and your collaborators can respond to each one with a brief message. The mobile apps also let you add and review comments. With a document open, click the pencil icon in the lower-right corner. Type in your comment, then, in Android, tap the Comment button to insert it; in iOS, tap the check mark to insert it.

To review all the comments in a document, tap the gray Comments icon. In the mobile apps, tap the pencil icon in the lower-right corner to enter editing mode. If you click this status sentence, you will be taken to a screen showing a list on the right side of the screen of older versions of your document. The entry for each version states the date and time when the revision was made and by which collaborator. The text or images that a collaborator added will be highlighted in a color that matches the color next to their name in this entry.

Step 2: Choose who to share with & how they can use your file

Click one of the dates, and the version of your document that was saved at that marked time will show in the main window. If you want to give an older version a unique name, click on its date. Ask them to enter their additions under Suggestion mode. This used to work but no longer does now that I've upgraded the OS to Mojave.

I'm bummed that I am now missing this option used it extensively. When I look at the contextual menus options google drive is an option in all BUT the share one.

Sign up or log in Sign up using Google. Sign up using Facebook. Sign up using Email and Password. Post as a guest Name.

Set up and Use Google Drive on Your Mac

Use this method to create a link that you can share anywhere, such as via social media and messaging apps. Click Get shareable link. Choose a level of access. To allow people with the link to edit the folder or its files, click Anyone with the link can edit. To allow people with the link to view the files but not modify them, click Anyone with the link can view.

Click Copy Link. The link is now copied to your clipboard, ready to be shared. Paste the link into a message or post to share it with others.

Sharing and access options

Include your email address to get a message when this question is answered. Already answered Not a question Bad question Other. Related wikiHows.